Snapchat introduces Memories – allows to save snaps and stories

Memories is a  personal collection of your favorite moments, that lives below the camera screen. Just swipe up from the Camera to open Memories!Snapchat has enabled users to widely share photos that weren’t taken “in the moment.”

Memories  lets you create a searchable collection of your saved snaps within the app that you can share later.. It will also allow you to share photos and videos taken outside of the app itself.

How to Open

To Open simply swipe  up from the camera screen. Here, you can view your saved snaps, stories and — if you want to share photos not taken in the app —  your camera roll.

Saving a snap to your Memories

It works  just like posting a photo or video to your story — “My Memories” will now appear underneath your story and other live stories (you can also adjust your settings so that photos saved with the save button are saved to the Memories section, in addition to your device.)

 

Searching Memories

It’s super easy to find the Snap or Story you’re looking for in just a few seconds by typing keywords like “dog” or “Hawaii”.The app uses Google Photos-like object recognition so you can search for things like “beach” or “dog,” in addition to dates and places.

 

Secure your Memories

Memories is also getting a password-protected section called “My Eyes Only,” which adds an extra layer of security to snaps within Memories. Those snaps can only be accessed by using a password. (Snapchat notes that this password cannot be recovered if you forget it, so choose wisely). It avoids  awkward moments when a friend stumbles upon a Snap meant just for you.

 

Do the memories disappear after 24 hours ?

No, the snapchat memories is your personal gallery in snapchat, that lets you save memories for more than 24 hours or until you delete them.

 

How to get Memories

The first step is to update the Snapchat app for iOS or Android. The Memories feature is rolling out progressively to users over the next month. When the new feature is available for your account, you’ll receive a snap from Team Snapchat.

Making Memories

To make a new memory, create a snap as usual with all the filters and stickers you desire. Then, tap the Save icon like you normally would to download the snap to your camera roll or gallery. Rather than saving to the roll, however, the snap will save to the Memories section.

To create a story from snaps within the Memories section, press and hold on an individual snap, then tap “My Snap” at the top of the screen. From here, tap “Create story from this snap” and select any additional snaps you want to include. Now you can save or send this snap to friends or to the My Story section as you would normally.

Note that if you post a snap to a story that was taken earlier than the past 24 hours, it will have a frame around it with the timestamp.

If you want to import snaps from your camera roll or gallery, go to Snapchat’s settings and find Memories. Select “Import Snaps from Camera Roll.”

Note that this will only surface actual Snapchats you have previously saved to your phone — not photos taken with the regular camera app.

 

Where the memories are backed

Any snap you save in your Memories section is saved to Snapchat’s servers, so if you log in on another device these snaps are available.It’s important to note that even though you have access to your camera roll or gallery within Memories, these photos and videos are not being backed up on Snapchat’s servers.

If you Don’t want to use memories

Within the Snapchat settings, navigate to the Memories section and find the Saving section. Tap “Save To…” and select “Camera Roll Only.” This section also lets you automatically save stories to Memories or set to My Eyes Only by default.

 

Comments

comments